Thirsty bear

Posted: January 20, 2012 in General

Well, who says that cars with small engines are economical?! As I often do with new cars, I spend the first few months tracking their consumption on Fuelly.com (until I get bored of it). I’ve now done five fills ups (and 900 miles) since getting the Panda.

Fuelly

Ouch! 35.4mpg at the time of writing this. The last tank was a dismal 32.2mpg for a fortnight of commuting on motorway and city rush hour roads. That’s not much better than my 2 litre turbo Megane could manage.

Our Toyota iQ averaged 51mpg over 7000+ miles…

Fuelly

…and my 125bhp 1050 Triumph Sprint turns in an average of 44mpg, and even reached 52mpg on a run today…

Fuelly

To be fair to the Panda, I’ve driven it reasonably hard so far and if I want to make any progress in it, the engine needs to be revved. I was hoping it would be a little better than this though. Maybe on the next tank I should try and hold back a bit and see what it can manage when I make an effort.

Leave a comment